Monday, February 6th, 2023
Monday, February 6th, 2023

Breaking News for

Sportsmen Since 1967

Wisconsin's state turkey, pheasant and waterfowl stamp winners announced

Tim EiseleNew stamps for turkey, pheasant and waterfowl hunters were selected on Aug. 25 and will be issued to hunters during the 2013 hunting seasons.

Winning the wild turkey contest, with a painting of an early morning gobbler ready to depart from a tree branch was Craig Fairbert, of Ladysmith.  Fairbert is no stranger to winning wildlife stamp contests as he has also been the winner of the 2010 waterfowl stamp, 2009 turkey stamp and 2008 pheasant stamp.

Coming in second was Robert Wilkens, of Kiel, and third place went to Virgil Beck, of Stevens Point.

Fairbert turned out to be a double-barrel winner, as his painting of a rooster pheasant in snow on a late winter morning, also took first place on the 2013 Wisconsin Pheasant Stamp Contest.

In second place was Brian Kuether, of Greenfield, and third place was a tie between Robert, Leum of Holmen, and Caleb Metrich, of Lake Tomahawk.

Taking top honors in the 2013 Wisconsin Waterfowl Stamp Contest was William Millonig, of Campbellsport.  The winning entry featured a pair of long-tailed ducks winging over big water.  Millonig was the earlier winner of the 2010 state pheasant stamp.

In second place was John Nemec, Jr., of Peshtigo, with a pair of hooded mergansers; third place was Brian Kuether, of Greenfield, with a painting of a common goldeneye.

Four judges, Cory Caitlin of the Wisconsin Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation, Bruce Urben of Wisconsin Waterfowl Association, Jim Shurts of the Conservation Congress, and Tim Eisele, a freelance outdoor writer, met at the Aldo Leopold Legacy Center in Baraboo to judge the entries in the 2013 wildlife stamp contest sponsored by the Department of Natural Resources.

See individual photos of the winning entries in a future issue of Wisconsin Outdoor News.

Share on Social


Hand-Picked For You

Related Articles