North Dakota youth archers out in force for state NASP tournament

A record total of 614 archers competed in the North Dakota National Archery in the Schools Program state bull’s-eye tournament recently in Minot, a 15 percent increase from the mark set last year.

Hankinson students claimed top honors in the elementary (grades 4-6), middle school (grades 7-8) and high school (grades 9-12) divisions.

Overall male and female winners were Hankinson archers Clayton Stone and Jaycee Brown.

Winning teams and the top 10 individuals qualify for the national tournament, scheduled for May in Louisville, Ky. The North Dakota Game and Fish Department and North Dakota Youth Archery Advisory Council contribute a total of $3,000 in travel assistance to the first place team in each division, and $1,000 to the overall male and female individual winners. In addition, a total of $21,000 in college scholarships was awarded by the NDYAAC to the top five overall scorers in both boys and girls divisions.

Qualifying for nationals in each division are:

High school boys – 1) Clayton Stone, Hankinson; 2) Chase Bladow, Hankinson; 3) Evan Mickelson, Mt. Pleasant; 4) Will Peckham, Montpelier; 5) Ty Wixo, Wahpeton; 6) Braydin Diede, Edgeley; 7) Chase Hibl, Wahpeton; 8) Michael McKenna, North Sargent; 9) Noah Trittin, Wahpeton; 10) Brandon Bottchen, Hankinson.

High school girls – 1) Kate Loewen, Hankinson; 2) Jaidyn Sander, Hankinson; 3) Laura Kielb, North Sargent; 4) Morgan Ohm, Hankinson; 5) Abigail Henderson, Edgeley; 6) Alicia Biewer, Hankinson; 7) Mary Goroski, Wahpeton; 8) Cassie Boelke, Wahpeton; 9) Josephine Nelson, North Sargent; 10) Brinley Mathern, Edgeley.

Middle school boys – 1) Grady Henderson, Edgeley; 2) Avery McFarland, North Sargent; 3) Brennan Wiederrich, Edgeley; 4) Jack Thompson, Hope-Page; 5) Austin Bladow, Hankinson; 6) Kase Kassian, Wilton; 7) Kalvin Loewen, Hankinson; 8) Isaac Pierce, North Sargent; 9) Tavon Stadler, Griggs County; 10) Connor Schall, Oakes.

Middle school girls – 1) Jaycee Brown, Hankinson; 2) Gracie Gunderson, Medina; 3) Grace Neameyer, Mt. Pleasant; 4) Marti Moberg, Mt. Pleasant; 5) Jaden Gilje, North Sargent; 6) Allee Boyer, Edgeley; 7) Sydni Berg, Edgeley; 8) Hannah Neameyer, Mt. Pleasant; 9) Lily Wiek, Oakes; 10) Octavia Ralph, Griggs County.

Elementary boys – 1) Matthew Wehseler, North Sargent; 2) Riley Christensen, North Sargent; 3) Marcus Garza, Oakes; 4) Parker Deering, Oakes; 5) Zeke Barnick, Edgeley; 6) Michael Erlanson, Wilton; 7) Joey Burgard, Oakes; 8) Jesse Sagaser, St. John’s; 9) Dalton Praska, Wahpeton; 10) Isaac Stadler, Griggs County.

Elementary girls – 1) Makenna Vosberg, Hankinson; 2) Estella Prochnow, Hankinson; 3) Rylee Suhr, Griggs County; 4) Kirstan Loewen, Hankinson; 5) Skyler Foertsch, Hankinson; 6) Jewels Hamling, Hankinson; 7) Aysia Frederick, Wilton; 8) Ariana Onchuck, Hankinson; 9) Madison Samuelson, Mt. Pleasant; 10) Paetyn Hamann, North Sargent.

In addition, a record 404 archers – a 25 percent increase from 2016 – competed in a NASP 3-D Challenge, run simultaneously with the bull’s-eye tournament.

Overall male and female winners were Evan Mickelson, Mt. Pleasant, and Kate Loewen, Hankinson. Top performers:

3-D high school boys – 1) Evan Mickelson, Mt. Pleasant; 2) Cheyne Meyer, Hankinson; 3) Skylar Keller, Hankinson; 4) Glenn Sabinash, Kensal; 5) Ty Wixo, Wahpeton.

3-D high school girls – 1) Kate Loewen, Hankinson; 2) Mary Goroski, Wahpeton; 3) Chase McFarland, North Sargent; 4) Alicia Biewer, Hankinson; 5) Laura Kielb, North Sargent.

3-D middle school boys – 1) Avery McFarland, North Sargent; 2) Brady McKenna, North Sargent; 3) Austin Bladow, Hankinson; 4) Isaac Pierce, North Sargent; 5) Connor Schall, Oakes.

3-D middle school girls – 1) Grace Neameyer, Mt. Pleasant; 2) Hannah Neameyer, Mt. Pleasant; 3) Jaden Ligje, North Sargent; 4) Jaycee Brown, Hankinson; 5) Avery Trittin, Wahpeton.

3-D elementary boys – 1) Riley Christensen, North Sargent; 2) Blayson Dolney, Oakes; 3) Matthew Wehseler, North Sargent; 4) Keaton Cudworth, New Rockford-Sheyenne; 5) Zeke Barnick, Edgeley.

3-D elementary girls – 1) Joclynn Beckley, Kensal; 2) Madison Samuelson, Mt. Pleasant; 3) Isabella Sundby, Oakes; 4) Aysia Frederick, Wilton; 5) MaKenna Vosberg, Hankinson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *