Springfield — Cheaper hunting and fishing licenses for some seniors, permit fees for waterfowl outfitters, regulation of firearms used by trappers to remove furbearers from their traps and brand new requirements for boating education.
These and more are included in a list of new laws that took effect Jan. 1.
While most of the attention on new state laws was given to SB 3046, which protects cougars, bears and wolves, a number of other laws apply to Illinois sportsmen. Here’s a rundown:
HB 4329 provides that the fee for all sport fishing licenses shall be $1 and salmon stamps and inland trout stamps shall be waived for residents over 75 years old. Provides that the fee for a hunting license shall be $1 and State Migratory Waterfowl Stamps & State Habitat.
HB 4277 allows blind or disabled anglers to fish with commercial fishing equipment without holding a sport fishing license.
HB 5082 increases the maximum size of a casting net to 24 feet in diameter or one inch in mesh bar.
SB 902 consolidates regulations regarding amphibians and reptiles into one code.
SB 3333 provides that “aquatic life” includes all fish, reptiles, amphibians, mollusks, crustaceans, algae, aquatic plants, aquatic invertebrates, and any other aquatic animals or plants identified after consultation with biologists, zoologists, or other wildlife experts.
HB 5869 provides that the release of aquatic life in Illinois without first securing permission from DNR is a Class B misdemeanor.
SB 3434 allows for the seizure of watercraft used in commission of certain offenses related to OUI.
SB 3433 requires persons born after Jan. 1, 1998, to take and pass a boating safety class.
SB 2731 mandates operator of a watercraft towing a skier or tuber to display a bright orange flag.
HB 5514 allows trapped animals to be removed from the trap with a firearm, pistol or air gun with a caliber not larger than a .22 long rifle.
HB 5911 provides that the location of the traps or snares used to trap nuisance animals shall be exempt from the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act.
HB 5080 establishes the waterfowl outfitter permit. Annual fee for residents is $1,000 and for non-residents it is $2,500.