South Dakota GFP Commission Finalizes Waterfowl Seasons

BROOKINGS, S.D. – The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Commission has finalized 2012 license structure details for nonresident waterfowl, tundra swan, and special Canada goose hunting seasons, with the same structure as 2011.

Hunting dates for most of those waterfowl seasons will not be finalized until early August, and will be based on the season framework provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

The maximum number of nonresident waterfowl licenses available by lottery drawing will be 4,000 special nonresident waterfowl licenses, 2,000 early fall Canada goose temporary nonresident licenses, 2,000 fall three-day temporary nonresident waterfowl licenses, and 10,000 spring snow goose temporary nonresident licenses.

The tundra swan season will open Oct. 1 and run through the conclusion of the fall light goose season. There will be 1,100 resident licenses and 200 nonresident licenses available to individuals who are licensed to hunt waterfowl.

The tundra swan season will be open in east of the Missouri River except Charles Mix, Bon Homme, Yankton, Clay, Union, Lincoln, Turner, Hutchinson and Douglas counties.

Bennett County will have a Canada goose season available by special permit only, open Oct. 20 through Dec. 23. There will be 800 three-tag licenses available to South Dakota residents. In addition, 25 nonresident two-tag licenses will be available as part of the nonresident waterfowl license quota.

The application process for those licenses will open by mid June. The application deadline for the lottery drawing of licenses will be July 6 for nonresident waterfowl licenses and Bennett County goose licenses, and Aug. 10 for tundra swan licenses.

Categories: Hunting News, Waterfowl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *