SD: GFP Finalizes Public Water Markings and Zones and Motorboat Rules

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Game Fish and Parks Commission has ordered no-wake zones on several bodies of water in the state.

The Commission created no-wake zones on:

· Richmond Lake (Brown County) during periods of high water

· Mina Lake (Edmunds County) during periods of high water

· Lake Mitchell (Davison County) during periods of high water; the Commission also amended boundaries of the existing no-wake zone on the lake’s west end

· Amended existing zoning on Lewis and Clark Lake (Yankton County), adjacent to Canary Beach, from a public swimming zone to a no-wake zone.

The Commission approved an “electric-motors-only” zone on waters of the Rollins Game Production Area (Lincoln County).

But the Commission rejected a proposal that would have created an “electric-motors-only” zone for Family Park in Minnehaha County. A “no-motors” zone will remain in place for Family Park.

Categories: News Archive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *