Fishing industry well represented on national outdoor recreation advisory committee

(U.S. Department of the Interior)

WASHINGTON, D.C. — A host of well-known outdoor recreation representatives – from the fishing industry in particular – were recently named to the national “Made in America” Outdoor Recreation Advisory Committee, announced recently by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke.

The 15-member committee was established on Nov. 8, 2017, and is intended to serve as an advisory board to the Secretary of the Interior on public-private partnerships across all public lands, with the goal of expanding access to and improving infrastructure on public lands and waterways, according to a new release from the Department of Interior.

“​The Made in America Outdoor Recreation Advisory Committee is made up of the private sector’s best and brightest​ to tackle some of our biggest public lands infrastructure and access challenges​,” Zinke said in the release. “​The Committee’s collective experience as entrepreneurs and business leaders provides unique insight that is often lost in the Federal government.”

Fishing industry types on the committee: Phil Morlock, vice president, government affairs and advocacy, Shimano American Corporation/Shimano Canada Ltd.; John Morris, founder and chief executive officer, Bass Pro Shops; Benjamin Bulis, president and chief executive officer, American Fly Fishing Trade Association; and K.C. Walsh, executive chairman, Simms Fishing Products.

The other committee members: Bradley Franklin, government relations manager, Yamaha Motor Corporaton USA; Amanda Covington, senior vice president of communications and government relations, Vista Outdoor Inc.; Linda Craghead, assistant secretary of Parks and Tourism, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism; Derrick Crandall, president, American Recreation Coalition, and counselor, National Park Hospitality Association; Bruce Fears, president, Aramark Leisure; Antonio Gonzalez, president and chief officer, TAXA Outdoors; Jeremy Jacobs, co-chief executive officer, Delaware North; Christopher Maloof, vice president, strategy and corporate development, RA Outdoors; Matt Miller, president, Newmar Corporation; Patrick Pacious, chief executive officer, president and director, Choice Hotels International Inc.; and Jim Rodgers, chairman and chief executive officer, KOA (Kampgrounds of America).

According to the release, the members were selected for their diverse backgrounds and experiences with the recreational industry. Members will have knowledge utilizing public-private partnerships, providing recreational visitor experiences, developing and deploying infrastructure improvements, or a thorough understanding of recreational equipment, the release said, adding that the duties are strictly advisory.

Categories: Industry News, Press Releases