DNR names deer advisory team members; holds first goal-setting meeting

The DNR has released the names of those serving on the advisory team that will play a key role in setting deer-population goals for the southeastern part of the state.

Team members are:
• Mark Bauman, Rochester
• Cynthie Christensen, Rushford
• Ken Fetterly, Spring Valley
• Larry Gates, Kellogg
• Collin Johnson, St. Charles
• Chris Kolbert, St. Charles
• Kyle Kolbet, Rochester
• Vong Lee, Roseville
•  Quintin Lohse, Chatfield
• Melinda Miller, Stewartville
• Anne Morse, Dakota
• Mark Popovich, Welch
•  Ron Rosenthal, Red Wing
• Tom Ryan, Byron
• Jim Siewert, Lake City
•  Michael Simons, Cottage Grove
• Terry Spaeth, Rochester
• Len Strapp, Rushford
• Marty Stubstad, Rochester
• Mark Timm, Altura
• Jim Vogen, Chatfield

According to the DNR, “The team includes archery, firearm and muzzleloader hunters as well as non-hunters; residents and landowners; farmers; orchard owners and operators; land managers; local government staff and volunteers; local business owners; and members of hunting, conservation and agricultural organizations.”

The public meeting portion of the goal-setting process began last night with a meeting in Lake City. There were about 100 people in attendance, and while hunters seem unified in their desire for more deer, it was a relatively low-key meeting. That’s probably not surprising, given the southeast has relatively strong deer numbers.

It will be especially interesting to watch how the goal-setting process plays out in areas of the state with especially low deer numbers.

The southeast advisory team will meet March 13, and then make recommendations at a second meeting on March 27. The DNR then will accept public comment on the team’s recommendations, and will finalize goals for southeastern permit areas in early May.

Categories: Bloggers on Hunting, Joe Albert, MinBlogs, Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *