Friday, January 27th, 2023
Friday, January 27th, 2023

Breaking News for

Sportsmen Since 1967

Wisconsin's Deer Trustee Report proposed hunting rule changes go to Natural Resources Board in January

Dean BortzA few readers have called our news office to find out who within the DNR they should contact to voice their opposition to phone-in deer registration, which would start in 2014 under the proposed Deer Trustee Report rule changes.

The callers have listed three primary reasons for not wanting to lose in-person deer registration. They believe the change will make way for an increase in poaching that will lead to increased buck harvest. They also want an accurate count on harvested deer and fear that a call-in system “miss” a lot of deer that simply are not called in.

But, the biggest beef that readers have linked to the electronic registration system really has no name, yet everyone knows what it is – going-to-the-registration-station-to-see-other-hunters’-deer. They believe that electronic registration will rob hunters of a big part of what makes gun deer season so interesting, fun and exciting. Instead of putting fun into deer hunting, they fear this rule change will take the fun out of deer hunting.

The laundry list of proposed deer rule changes that came out of the DTR was supposed to get an airing before the NRB at the board’s Dec. 10-11 meeting in Madison. However, that item has been moved to the Jan. 21-22 meeting in Madison. That give hunters a little more time to air their concerns with the DNR and NRB members.

So, who do you contact?

Start with DNR Secretary Cathy Stepp and DNR Executive Assistant Scott Gunderson.

Cathy Stepp
(608) 266-2121

Scott Gunderson
608) 267-9521

You may also call or email all seven Natural Resources Board members. However, Laurie Ross is the DNR’s liaison to the NRB. If you were to email something to Laurie, she would distribute that to all seven members.
Laurie Ross
(608) 267-7420

You may also call or mail hard copy to NRB members.
Preston D. Cole, Chair
841 N. Broadway Rm. 501
Milwaukee WI 53202

Terry Hilgenberg, Vice Chair
PO Box 555
Shawano WI 54166

Greg Kazmierski, Secretary
N13 W28400 Silvernail Rd.
Pewaukee WI 53072

William Bruins
N2899 State Highway 49
Waupun WI 53963

Christine L. Thomas
College of Natural Resources
UW-Stevens Point
Stevens Point WI 54481

Jane Wiley
2400 Park Rd.
Wausau WI 54401

Gary Zimmer
PO Box 116
Laona WI 54541

Share on Social


Hand-Picked For You

Related Articles