Ten counties dropped from this year's late-winter deer season

Ralph LoosDNR announced today (June 14) revisions to the state’s late-winter deer season for 2012-13.

"Based on an annual review of antlerless deer harvest and deer management needs in individual counties," the revisions result in the closing of 10 counties that had previously been open for the late-winter seasons: Cass, Christian, Henry, Johnson, Lawrence, Mason, Morgan, Tazewell, Union and Wabash. 

There will be no change in the counties open for the Special CWD Deer Season for 2012-13, DNR added.

Of Illinois’ 102 counties, 56 are open for the Late-Winter Season, 10 are open for the Special CWD Season, and 36 are closed during those seasons.

As far as the other deer seasons, archery season will be Oct. 1-Jan. 20, 2013.  The Youth Firearm Deer Season will be Oct 6-7, while the regular seven-day firearms deer season will be Nov. 16-18 and Nov. 29-Dec. 2.  The muzzleloader-only Deer Season will be Dec. 7-9. The seven-day late-winter season and Special CWD Deer Season dates will be Dec. 27-30 and Jan. 18-20, 2013.

More information on the deer seasons will be available in the June 29 issue of Illinois Outdoor News.

Categories: Bloggers on Hunting, Illinois – Ralph Loos, Social Media, Whitetail Deer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *